Some snatches of overheard and misheard cafe conversation…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: abstrict, flong, lingster, limitrophe, scutage, unicameral, and inturbidate. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. As the professor is currently on the International Space Station he will be conducting the lesson over a video link. Be wary of the time delay when conversing with the ISS and do not let this distract you from your studies – also, there will be no unwarranted laughter at the professor in weightless conditions. (ISS)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘Deep down I had an inkling Bernard.’
‘It’s a really wanna-whoo idea!…’
‘I have a friend in you even when it creeps.’
‘I think it must be a bot…’
‘For a melmit-post?…’
‘The slate, the slate, every five bloody minutes!’
‘I can sometimes lean over an E.’
‘So, what I heard was, “nupple-feel”…’
‘Oh, smart knee and tip rafters…’
‘Howie, Howie, I was thick in the head at the time.’
‘A thinking cork?…’
‘…and last night he got speed up.’
‘…and a very good Jehovah Simon!’
‘It was a leet alley, a pink one!’
‘I’m not saying he was prickly, but…’
‘Sulla Mawkish was prettier than that Michael.’
‘Uh-uh-uh-uh, uh-uh-uh, and without make-up on!’
‘I put a stamp on his at one point.’
‘No no Pauline, that’s the good news!’
‘Oh, Libby!… Thather peth sign-deer?’
‘Piggle who?…’
‘Leslie Biscuit?’
‘Look Jerry, just put your feet on one and see!…’

If you are curious as to how these items are collected, you could click here.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, cafe, composition, conversation, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, overheard, serendipity, sex, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Some snatches of overheard and misheard cafe conversation…

  1. When I lean over an “E”, its most uncomfortable with those hard edges. I much prefer “O” or “G”. And if I were in Professor Mouldie’s class watching him in weightless conditions…well, i really would have to excuse myself for a moment!

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Inturbidate…..(spell check doesn’t recognize this word)….I suppose the intention is to muddy the waters!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Indeed Dana, my dictionary (an old hardback paper one) says, “To render turbid…”

      • Dana Doran says:

        My copy of Webster’s is currently in use, in place of something more appropriate, as a height adjustment….haha….I did check online to find the same result, “to render turbid…” she implied as she realized (yes, with a “z”) millenials were in charge of spellcheck at Microsoft…many of whom speak English as a second language. lol

      • Dave Whatt says:

        The great thing about real paper dictionaries is that whilst looking for something, you come across lots of other words that you never knew even existed – online ones work the other way round – you can’t randomly flick through them – pity…

  3. ktz2 says:

    Leslie Biscuit ! It’s been ages since I’ve heard that name — I remember him/her well. . .

  4. Claudia says:

    It’s curly q language is above my pay grade. Make me smile, though..

Leave a Reply

