The Red Chair…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s featured letter of the alphabet is the capital ‘T’. A very popular letter is the capital ‘T’, especially with the little lower case letters – they cluster round and shelter under him when it’s raining there in Alphabet Land.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Hm… here’s a photograph I took in May last year.
A few moments ago I was a bit uncertain as to whether I should show you this one; there’s not really a lot going on in it, is there?
I suppose it might be all about colour and composition; that’s pretty obvious, we only seem to have three colours in the thing, that unrelenting green, that unrelenting red (or might it be pink? There’s a fine line between red and pink isn’t there?) and that unrelenting drab grey of the paved path. Yes, dear reader, today’s word is ‘unrelenting’ – a bit like the TV coverage of the forthcoming general election here in the UK – oh, I’m sick of it already and it’s hardly got going!
So, what positive things can I manage to suck out of this odd picture?
Okay, here we go:
The red and the green do clash very nicely don’t they? But I suppose, if I remember my school art lessons with the old technical drawing teacher (we didn’t have a proper art teacher for a couple of years) Mr Sugdon, red and green are complementary colours – oh, just listen to them chatter away:
‘Oh Reddy, I think your intensity is so much more vibrant than mine…’
‘Oh but Greeny, just look at your hue, it’s absolutely fabulous, such delicacy in its tone and gradation and…’
Enough of that…
I quite like the fact that the chair has no legs, and it looks like it has sunk into the ground as if in wet concrete. Oh, and what about the little pool of rainwater that has accumulated on the chair and collected some of the petals blown across from the greenery?
Yes, I am glad I posted this one – look, I have even managed to write 300 reasonably interesting words on it!

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, colours, composition, cool, Dulltown, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

