Caffeine fuelled horror in the supermarket…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s mild Victorian expletive is By Jabers!
I suppose the ‘J’ gives away what is really meant here, it is of course a rather weak replacement for By Jesus! I always think that it is the hard or soft consonants in the word which give an oath more or less impact, perhaps more than the actual meaning the word. Bugger! with its gentle ‘g’s and its ‘r’ at the end, is a lot less effective than the word bastard!, don’t you think?
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So, in the supermarket earlier this month, as I was heading towards their selection of caffeine delivery systems I came across this woman; she seemed to be really buzzing and wild, she has presumably just quickly knocked back a couple of cups of dense dark espresso.
Isn’t it a well-known phenomenon that a face experiencing intense pleasure is almost indistinguishable from one experiencing awful pain?
At first glance you see a smile and the expression of joy, but after a moment, before your very eyes, it morphs into pain, suffering and horror; just look at that mouth! Or is this just me?…
I grabbed my little camera from my bag; a second or two to compose… and… click!…
I was very lucky to include the sauntering hands-in-pockets chap in black to the left, he really does balance the composition nicely – he gives the eye somewhere to go after it has been grabbed by the converging lines of the shelving.
Of course I had quickly focussed the lens on the gurning lady to make sure that she would be sharp and crisp, with everything else ever so slightly blurred to give the feeling of depth in the picture.
This one reminds me of an earlier photo I posted a month or two ago – it had a woman’s face advertising something placed off to one side too, she also was a bit scary-looking – not meant to be of course. Perhaps you could have another look at that one while you are here. (Click)
(Gurning)

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, composition, drama, Dulltown, expletives, Hull.UK., humour, information, mind, observations, photography, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Caffeine fuelled horror in the supermarket…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Well, I think this one is much scarier than the one down the Marina! Must be the coffee ….

  2. Dana Doran says:

    Look here Dave….don’t you recognize that woman? She’s the inventor of the coffee pod…that’s why she’s smiling so broadly – she’s the one person in the world that convinced people around the world to purchase a single serve machine that can only use a “pod” thus increasing the cost of service at home by about 200%….I prefer my French press…though it does take 4 minutes before that first luscious sip…ouch….too hot!

  3. Good lord!! That is one caffeine filled lady! I have one of those coffee machines that Dana mentioned – the machine is cheap enough, but the pods are terribly expensive! I’ll stick to jar coffee…..even if I don’t quite get the buzz that this lady seems to!

  4. ktz2 says:

    I’ve seen a new coffee brand in stores called Death Wish, in a black bag, which is supposed to be 2-3 times more caffeine per cup. . yikes !

Leave a Reply

