Some short, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s kangaroo is the one that thinks hopping looks really uncool and strolls everywhere instead.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 331.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was delayed at Area 51.

A single overheard remark:
‘Oh her, she’s always lucky with the lights!…’

‘Do you have an arky?’
‘Yes, look, here’s a nice one.’
‘Have you a  higher one than that?’
‘A higher arky? A hierarchy?…’
‘Yes.’
‘No, sorry, we are fresh out of those…’

An observation:
A young woman striding confidently through the town centre; she has an interesting gradation of style going from top to bottom. Mousy unkempt hair, a rather drab-looking button-up wool jacket, bright red tight trousers on shapely legs and knee-length high-heel boots of shiny metallic gold.

Now then! What’s this?
Ah, just another item of spam in my comments box; this one seems to be from someone called Kirstenkp – he or she is commenting on my photograph The Red Chair:
I realpy like iit when folks comm toogether and
shade views. Greaqt site, continue thee ggood work! bookmarked!! I lijke youir website!
I amm surte tbis pist hass toucherd alll thhe internet visitors,
iits really really god paragraph on building uup neew webpage.
Well thank you Kirstenkp, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I do hope to hear from you again soon, and might I add that I really like your writing style?

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Al Furmale.

Oh dear!…
Four people have just come into the cafe and pounced on a corner table just to my left by the window. They seem to be a gang of actors, probably here for something to do with the UK City of Culture 2017 thing. They all loll back in their chairs and launch into cheery banter to practise their projection and crisp diction. They are all young and male and are wearing expensive but deliberately drab clothes in sandy shades – I expect they are from London. As they guffaw and smirk away, two of them have just started nimming with the excitement of it all, just look at their skinny knees bobbing up and down! Isn’t funny how you can so quickly dislike people without actually knowing them?…

A single overheard remark:
‘What? A placebo catalogue?…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, cafe, colours, conversation, cool, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, fashion, Grumpiness, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, observations, overheard, people, serendipity, style, surrealism, theatre, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Some short, but pithy items…

  1. Nimming is actually a thing? I never did know that! I nim all the time. I am an expert nimmer. They used to call it fidgeting, back in the day, but Nimming is a good word. And for your observation, wouldn’t be good to compare the cultural styles of our towns in some sort of visual blog – keeping the faces obscure of course. Where I live, there is a woman who dresses entirely in purple – from her hair, right down to her shoes, with matching purple accessories.

  2. Al Furmale. What would he be? Trawlerman from Grimsby. Gold medallion man a la seventies. Suggestions on career path would help. I’ll draw him then. Other ‘apt’ names always welcome.

    • I’d be interested to see your interpretation. Got to have a toupee….slicked back, naturally. Wears sunglasses to hide his glass eye, but also to maintain the cool look. His trawlerman job gave him delusions of grandeur, and he always fancied a big gold yacht anchored off the Scarborough coast……

    • Dave Whatt says:

      I’ll bet he drives a big loud car!…

  3. I assume he would have had in the glory days a haircut a la Elvis, with a carefully combed duck’s arse at the rear. I’ll have a go soon. I’ve done a load of these “apt names” drawings. You might like this one: Tim Bird ( this is a true name and he is our County’s Tree Officer! )

  4. ktz2 says:

    I had to go look up ‘nimming’, and while on the linked site saw the ‘Your Word Here’ mug for sale, which made me smile. Those would be fun 2 ways– with one’s chosen word to display, and also just as shown

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Yes, I have heard people call that phenomenon ‘nimming’, but it was tricky finding a definition for it online – it appears to be classed as slang – a lovely word though…

Leave a Reply

