Some snatches of overheard and misheard cafe conversation…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s wrinkled old black and white snapshot is the one of me building sandcastles on the beach at Scarborough with Clark Gable and Ingrid Bergman in 1949.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘They’ll not know exackerly Tim…’
‘Yeah wildoo, wildoo…’
‘Healing voices with a corner broom.’
‘Perdy-pow!…’
‘Go along with her twist-and-shine Scott.’
‘Oh, my mind is just like fire!…’
‘Post-marital depression?’
‘Sherry Knee, you see me pee like an informer?’
‘A smoky enemy, the line is in their key…’
‘Such laughing flowers!…’
‘Just whistling shoes and then a taxi.’
‘Mary, it was very much Alpine!’
‘To keep slats on it is all I want!’
‘It was a rhesus drawing?…’
‘I’m smiling my life away looking for Venus.’
‘A hand-held one, for the condensation.’
‘What? Actually inside the nose?’
‘A secluded darling?…’
‘No, Brenda just can’t manage it!’
‘My attention is going hungry, two weeks of lemonade!’
‘It was Teggalardo soul, and a drop-lead…’
‘A circle… then a ridge!…’
‘Pop wood floats, hot and cold, hot and cold!’
‘It was a night for two weeks Ed!…’
‘An inch of the body in the night…’
‘Absolute breathing?’

Should you be curious as to how these lines are compiled, you could click here.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, cafe, conversation, drama, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, observations, overheard, people, poetry, serendipity, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some snatches of overheard and misheard cafe conversation…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    blah blah blah. So Dave, if you’d like some inspiration (actually, I was leaning toward using the word incensed), some famous art selling opportunity in New York is offering a photograph (by an unknown photographer) for $126,000 (including tax, they say)…https://www.artsy.net/article/artsy-editorial-best-frieze-new-york And work by an unknown photographer from the 1930’s is the best of New York? hahahaha (choak)

    • Dave Whatt says:

      You know… sometimes I’m quite glad I’m ‘unknown’…
      But I can feel the vultures all around me waiting for my demise and getting ready to come round here with a couple of shovels and a big truck for all the work…

      • Dana Doran says:

        Unknown to who? or is it whom….I get confused. However, somewhere I’m sure there’s quite a file……bwahaha

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Yes, I get a bit confused by ‘who’ ‘whom’ too – but isn’t it great when you slip a ‘whom’ in and surprise people?…
        I think I might start answering the phone with “To whom do you wish to speak?…”

Leave a Reply

