Just a few small, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s parsnips are the sad ones in the bottom of the fridge that have gone soft and bendy, not hard and unyielding as they ought to be.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 333.
I’m sorry I’m late, but my parrot kept me up all night discussing stuff.

A single overheard remark:
‘Oh, daft Kevin wouldn’t know!…’

An observation:
A chap was walking through the city centre; he had a Jack Russell dog perched on his shoulder. At first glance, and from the side, I thought that some jackal-headed ancient Egyptian God was visiting. (God)

How about a new range of nicely packaged, expensive, gold-wrapped, chocolate-covered biscuits in unusual shapes? They could be called: ‘Arias’, ‘Concertos’, Scherzos’, ‘Nocturnes’ and ‘Fugues’ – that would attract the posh customers!…

Oh, this looks interesting! It’s an item of spam just landed in my comments box; it seems to be from someone called Raleighbinc:
The Puma ambassador donned a pair of its new Ferrari assortment ankle boots and companion sweater on Friday when she greeted supporters at her short term life-style keep in Canoga Park Calif. at Topanga Westfield buying plaza. Kim Kardashian featuring Ray J looks like here Jenner who has been dating rapper two many years manufactured confident to flaunt her artwork assortment as well. Amid her famed pieces.
Well thank you Raleighbinc, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and thank you for the update on the companion sweater and the famed pieces. I do hope to hear from you again soon.

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to General Electric.

I don’t know why, but an ancient song suddenly popped into my head, and I felt that I had to look it up and hear it again. (USA) You don’t get songs anything like this now.

A single overheard remark:
‘So you see Chantelle, when he has a bad week he has to break into his good week’s money…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in celebrities, conversation, cool, Dulltown, existentialism, history, humour, information, misheard, music, observations, serendipity, surrealism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just a few small, but pithy items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    Dear General, Oh boy….Kim Kardashian….I’m soo glod you din’t use his nome with a hushtag…that wuld hve been so Los Angeles. Thanks for that USA link, by the way, and although I pride myself in being ancient….never heard that “song” before…..haha I was probably listening to Frank Zappa…not really a step up, but, you know….

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Actually, I have heard the name Kim Kardashian banded around, but I don’t know who, he, she, or it, is… and also I am not embarrassed to say that…
      Good name for a band though “The United States of America”!…
      The song was on an LP record, one of the first ‘sampler’ records, it also had Taj Mahal, Len Coen, and others…
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Rock_Machine_Turns_You_On

      • Dana Doran says:

        Kardashians are famous for being famous, I believe Kim replaced Paris Hilton….it’s an American thing (woeful), contextually her biological father (now deceased) was best friend and lawyer of OJ Simpson (the glove doesn’t fit murder suspect and former football star), whose mother married Olympic star Bruce Jenner (now the famous transgender model, Caitlin) and they happily aired their relationships on reality tv—that I swear I never viewed. It sucks that I know this…..propaganda you know. I suppose that’s why my art is so pedestrian.

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Ah… Right then…
        Now I’m trying to forget everything that you have just told me…

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    My word, what a splendid song & not one I was previously familiar with. Thank you Dave! Mind you, 1968, there was a helluva lot going on that year, wasn’t there?
    Bet you’re so glad you’re up to speed with the Kardashian clan now, aren’t you? Don’t think any of them were around in 1968, thank God. Ah, they don’t make years like that any more …

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ah, 1968!
      Musicians could experiment and do whatever they liked back then – and they did. I think ‘Wooden Wife’ is s great example – hey, and what about that second half with the ‘patriotic’ sounding tune?
      Kardashians?… Who?…
      Aren’t they in Star Trek?…

      • Jheron Bash says:

        Yes, the second half is a bit of a surprise & change of pace but the lyric pay-off is in the last line before it, isn’t it? Probably wouldn’t be allowed today! Messing around with schoolgirls! Who knew?

Leave a Reply

