A linocut from last year…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s architectural term is ‘Quarry’ (or quarrel). A small diamond-shaped pane with which medieval windows were glazed. The term can also apply to any small quadrangular opening in the tracery of a window. I have one or two quarries in my ornate tracery, visitors often remark on them.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

It seems ages since I showed you one of my lino prints. The reason is that I haven’t done that many and I have already shown you the best ones. I really must do some more. Summer is good time for linocutting; the lino cuts better when warm, and you can have the door open, and hear the birds singing outside…
Hm, so, how about this one?


As you can see, it was done last year; it is printed on Japanese paper about A4 size using Speedball black oil-based printing ink.
If you are familiar with my posts on linocuts you may spot the use here of that device (it looks like the sort of thing you might see featured in Gadgets Annual) I made for cutting concentric circles, also you may recognise that the shape of the curvilinear form, excuse me, the curvy thing, thrusting in from the right is achieved by drawing round a plastic ‘French curve’ from a set of such things that someone gave me a while back. I wonder if you can still buy French curves? Perhaps they are no longer needed in this digital world? (FC)
‘So Dave, I see the sky has lots of triangles in it, is that because they are easier to cut than complicated stars and round moons?’
‘Yes, that’s right, much less bother.’
‘Hm… and do I see a couple of ridiculously angular snakes, having an open-mouthed, stand up confrontation, and snapping at each other, as the main feature of this piece?’
‘Yes, that’s right, that’s what you see…’
‘They have square eyes Dave…’
‘Of course they do, what of it?’
‘Oh nothing… It’s all a bit tangled, isn’t it?’
‘Yes, just like life really.’
‘Oh, I love it when you go poignant…’
‘Thank you…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in architecture, art, brain, composition, conversation, cool, creation, design, fine art prints, history, humour, information, learning, lino cut printing, lino printing, observations, prints, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A linocut from last year…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    I love it when you go poignant too, Dave. I do like a bit of poignancy. Like the linocut too!

  2. memadtwo says:

    Anything with snakes is good.

  3. Dana Doran says:

    I like this one! Is it me, or, is this piece just “happy?” (except for the snakes screaming at each other, I mean….)

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, I think it’s happy – I reckon those zigzaggy snakes are smiling with snake humour too.
      Oh, I just noticed, the one on the right is shouting “pause”…

  4. Claudia says:

    Love the abstract yet understandable design. Happy? Yes. Snakes? In a symbolic way. Like it alot!

  5. Oh this one is brilliant! Space Snakes! I also love how one of the stripes in the middle cuts through the funny curve shape you have there – it gives a real depth to the piece. 🙂

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Thank you dear Scribby – I love working out those overlapping things – I suppose it’s a bit like that ancient stuff you get on Celtic crosses.

  6. Love it. Are you familiar with Ello?

  7. junkmonkey says:

    Yes you can still buy French Curves. I bought some last year for my daughter – and then almost immediately knicked them. If she wants them back she knows where they are; in the shelves behind my drawing table in the same dookit as mine and the ones I inherited from my father. Three generations of French Curves all jumbled up together. Hers are the orange ones.

Leave a Reply

