Some short, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s unusual pencil sharpener is the one shaped like the sound of a branch in a strong wind scraping at the bedroom window.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 335.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I accidentally pressed ‘restart’.

A single overheard remark:
‘What?… A faulty hair brush?…’

The Fender Stratocaster used to be my favourite guitar, until one day I saw a picture of Tony Blair with one. (TB)

Sitting in Leeds railway station:
The rattling nasal voice over the loudspeakers seemed to say: The 17.40 train to Hull is delayed by approximately fifty-nine minutes. This is due to waiting for a train from nowhere.
And a few moments later: We are sorry to announce that the 17.40 train to Hull, has been cancelled.
Not surprising really…

Yes, I’m, thinking of changing my name to Basil Puree.

When you are stuck for interesting things to put in your blog you can generally rely on a nice piece of spam popping up in your comments box which can provide a line or two. This one seems to be from someone called Jacklinux:
‘Thank yoou for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
Look advanced to more added agreeabe feom you!
However, how can we communicate?’
Well, Jacklinux, it’s really nice of you to write, and I do hope you will do so again. As for communicating on a regular basis I find that unfortunately I won’t be able to spare the time as I am very busy with my feome thanque project at the moment, but I do appreciate your interest.

Here’s something I jotted down in 1994:
On a train from Sheffield:
I turned around in my seat to look around the carriage. To my surprise I caught a glimpse of a woman with three lips. When I looked again it turned out that she was holding in her mouth a whole round ginger biscuit, her hands being occupied fiddling with something in her handbag. The skin tone of her lips was very similar to the hue of the biscuit. (GB)

Do you fancy hearing some very strange music? (Click here)

A single overheard remark:
‘You just have to put your finger on these things Charlotte…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, celebrities, conversation, cool, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, guitars, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, misheard, music, observations, overheard, people, serendipity, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some short, but pithy items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    I don’t know who has worse luck, you or me? I used to love the sound of a saxophone until http://media2.s-nbcnews.com/i/streams/2013/August/130806/6C8538899-tdy-130806-president-latenight-clinton.jpg

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    I used to love “Jessica” by the Allman Brothers, until it was purloined by “Top Gear”.

  3. ktz2 says:

    Was that the train to Hull… or Hell? haha

Leave a Reply

