One or two shortish items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s colours are: bunker black, oracle orange, gush green, broomstick brown, yawning yellow, panic purple, and rocket red.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 336.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I got carried away polishing my andirons.

A single overheard remark:
‘It was all quite enjoyable apart from the bagpipes…’

An observation:
In town yesterday afternoon I spotted a Stagecoach double-decker bus that had been recently repainted to celebrate Hull: UK City of Culture 2017. On the side in large letters, as you can see below, was the simple message This Is Hull; the rest of the vehicle has some views of the city’s better architecture printed on it, and there was some added colour too. It looked like someone had gone to their garden shed, retrieved some half tins of paint in pastel shades, and thrown them at the bus. As it was standing at the traffic lights I managed to snap a picture for you dear reader. Isn’t it funny how someone can put so much work into something, and when it’s done, it looks… er… dirty?…


I’m thinking of changing my name to Mel Ting-Slowly

‘I put it down to tiers of management…’
‘Tears?’
‘No, no – everyone knows managers aren’t cable of tears…’
‘Ah…’

Spam, spam, spam, spam…
Ah, a new item in my comments box – let’s see who this one is from. It seems to be someone called Kesten:
I musxt say youu hwve dokne a vry god job ith this.
Additionally, tthe blokg loadds vry quik forr mee onn Chrome. Outstanding blog! It’s tthe bdst tie too ake a feww planjs ffor the longer term annd it’s time to be happy.
I havbe read this post annd if I may desire tto suggst some attention-grabbing tings orr suggestions. Maybee yoiu could write some neext article referring to this article. I want to resad even more issues approximately it.
Well thank you Kesten, I will certainly bear in mind what you have said, and I do look forward to hearing from you again soon… ‘Outstanding’ eh?…

An observation:
This morning the clouds in the sky to the west had formed themselves into the shape of a large bra.

A single overheard remark:
‘Phil, it has to be drawn edge-on!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, colours, conversation, cool, creation, design, Dulltown, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, seeing, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One or two shortish items…

  1. memadtwo says:

    The tears of management…that’s us crying I think…
    And why at first glance did I think the bus said “This is Hell”? Hmmm….(K)

  2. I’m a fan of buses. (I have a special feeling for the ones in Pittsburgh, PA, painted all different colors and just speeding around like bright caterpillars). Anyway, I am glad this bus got a special look but I agree with you – maybe a second try will be more flattering. I imagine it driving around under a large bra. Makes my day.

Leave a Reply

