Bo in with the items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s featured letter of the alphabet is the capital ‘V’. The other letters of the alphabet stand around gaping in amazement at how he can balance there on his point all day long without falling over.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

So, Saturday afternoon I found myself drifting through the doors of the bustling jostling Tesco supermarket here in the centre of Dulltown; I grabbed a wire basket from the stack, reached into my shorts (yes, it was a particularly hot day) pocket and retrieved the small rectangle of light grey card, cut from a Shredded Wheat carton, which was my shopping list, and I squinted down at it:

Red kidney beans (tins)
Broccoli
Hand wash
Basmati rice
Washing up liquid
Sweet potato
Tesco mackerel in curry sauce (tins)
Small seedy loaf
Bo Diddley

Whoa! Bo Diddley?…
How did he get on there?
Oh yes, of course… As I was walking into town earlier in the day, I noticed that I was head-humming (not out loud you understand) an old Bo Diddley song (it’s easy to slip into one of those, they are so catchy!); the song was in fact ‘Hey Bo Diddley‘. As I walked and hummed internally I was thinking how great it must be to have an actual musical rhythm named after you – the Bo Diddley Beat – Dum-diddy-dum-dum – dum dum! Dum-diddy-dum-dum – dum dum!
Of course no-one can claim to have invented a ‘beat’, music isn’t like that, but as he used it a lot, and off-hand I can’t think of examples of it that predate Bo, apart from perhaps African drumming rhythms, he might as well lay official claim to it – I don’t think you can be thrown in prison for such a thing, well not yet anyway…
So, I walked on towards town, and my mind moved to the ‘tune’ or ‘composition’ (I never know what to called them) I’m currently working on on my DAW (digital audio workstation) on my computer. It’s a fairly light-hearted piece, the working title being Daft Juicy Noises. It doesn’t use a Bo Diddley beat though, it’s a quickish straight pulse at 140 BPM (beats per minute), but it occurred to me as I strolled along that it might be nice to let it slowly transform from an even eight-to-the-bar into a syncopated Bo rhythm just before the fade out. Yes, that would make an interesting end to the thing.
Hm, I must try to remember to give that a go the next time I summon the enthusiasm to switch the machine on. Oh, I know! – I’ll just make a note of it at the bottom of my shopping list….
Good!…
Dum-diddy-dum-dum – dum dum! Dum-diddy-dum-dum – dum dum!… I went, as I walked along…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in blues, composition, cool, Dulltown, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, music, serendipity, style, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bo in with the items…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    I always thought it was spelled: Tum te-tum te-tum – dum-dum!

  2. junkmonkey says:

    I Knew it! You ARE Winnie the Pooh!

Leave a Reply

