Spatter painting No. 26…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s colours are: omelette orange, brawn brown, lemon lemon, radish red, pilchard pink, toast turquoise, grouse grey, and apple azure.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

You might recall dear reader, a few months back, my mentioning knocking out some more of my spatter paintings – I’d forgotten all about those – I meant to show you them as soon as I’d done them. I think I’d better force you to look at one of them right now – how about a nice greenish-blueish one?
I’m not sure if this is one of those recent ones, it might be one from last year, or earlier – I can’t quite make out the date on it – actually it doesn’t really matter does it? We are not art critics talking Rembrandts here are we?

Spatter Painting No. 26. Acrylic paint and black ink on watercolour paper about 29″ x 21″.

Is it pretty?
Yes, I think it is…
Oh, and how do you like my rivulets? What a nice word that is! Come on everyone, let’s all say the word together – rivulets… rivulets… Come on, relish those consonants! Say it with an accent as if it’s French or Italian!… Rivulets… rivulets…

As you can see, I did my usual thing of using my old metal pie dish upturned as a slightly leaky circular mask up in the north-eastern sector – it worked rather well didn’t it? A nicely imperfect circle, teetering between being an obvious disc, and not one at all…
Of course my rivulets (can’t stop saying that word!) were simply achieved by tilting the drawing board and letting gravity and low viscosity rule the roost for a few seconds – I could have stopped the flow from running off the paper, but I quite like the way that it does.
It looks to me like the pie-dish-blob is rushing off to the right and the rivulets are the trails it is leaving behind, but of course you can read as you like, it can be anything you want it to be dear reader…

Note:
I just went off to make another cup of tea and while I was waiting for the kettle to boil I peeped into my ‘spatters folder’, located the original and looked what its date is. Yes, this is an old one, painted in 2015.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, composition, creation, food, information, painting, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spatter painting No. 26…

  1. twallisstone says:

    Relating to ri-vu-lets: remarkable! Thanks – I love the colors!

  2. Claudia says:

    I think you did a mahvelous job!

  3. David Manley says:

    rivvetting rivulets…

  4. David Manley says:

    probably a rogue additional v there…and hope you don’t mind me making another picture using your colours (or at least my idea of your colours)

  5. I love this – it really moves from left to right quite forcefully, the way I see it!

Leave a Reply

