Curves with Michael, Shirley, and Herbert…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s 15th. c 16th. c English expletive is ‘Birladie’ – an early oath on the Blessed Virgin –  a contraction of By our lady.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Dear Diary,
Yesterday afternoon, after a small meal of tinned Danish oily mackerel and tomatoes on toast, I decided that, having the previous day printed an edition of 10 new lino prints, I should try to maintain the creative momentum and design a new one before the enthusiasm for such things evaporated in a puff of lethargy. I left the TV switched on and gathered together: a sketch pad, a ruler, some pencils, a rubber, a white correction pen, and a pair of compasses beside me on the settee.
Playing on the TV was an old film I had seen a couple of times before, it was what you might call a light-hearted stylish ‘comedy thriller’. Of course I only glanced up to look at it every now and then, so for me it more like listening to a radio play that watching a film. It was Gambit from 1966, with Michael Caine, Shirley MacLaine and Herbert Lom. What a good film that was, I’d forgotten how witty and cleverly written it is – for drawing along with on the settee it was ideal! (Gambit 1966)

Anyway, by the time the film had drawn to its rather clever conclusion I had most of the new design done. As you can see it includes (again) my ‘curved parallel lines’ motif. (I don’t think I can remember ever having typed the word motif before.) Well, a while ago I did make a jig for cutting large diameter curves of different radii in lino, so I might as well make use of the thing – it would be really tricky trying to cut such curves ‘by hand’. (Curves)
You can see the drawing there under my glasses – I have gone for a three-dimensional feel for the image with lines crossing illogically over others.
By the way, this isn’t quite the finished design – since taking the photo I have put a solid-looking ‘three-dimensional’ x-shaped thing over the top of the curves – some trial ‘blocks’ can be seen on the clipboard to the right.
Ah, a couple of hours well spent I think. I will of course be showing you the finished print one day – watch this space, as they say…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, British film, celebrities, composition, creation, design, drawing, history, humour, lino cut printing, lino printing, linocut tools, prints, serendipity, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Curves with Michael, Shirley, and Herbert…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    I’m very happy you’re creating a new linocut. I like to see your work! Of course, it is all about me, isn’t it? So, I will watch this space. Dave, did I tell you I have a muse? He called me to tell me about the quantum state of things the other day – Loop Quantum Gravity bridges Quantum Physics and General Relativity by quantizing space-time itself, describing it as a literal fabric with a smallest possible size and shape to the component weave. This smallest possible structural volume of space-time is a Planck scale Tetrahedron, and the smallest possible area is a Planck scale equilateral Triangle. So then I had to watch a movie about it (yawn)….and how they combine into crystals and that changing the placement of one of these tetrahedrons ….well, like a bull in a China Shop I tell you. Tiny little triangles. In 3d. Of course, the same article tells me there are 8 dimensions.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      I love all that stuff, not that I have the maths (‘math’ US) to understand what the hell it all means, but I’m in awe of people who can get some sort of a grip on it – also I’m amazed that some of us humans, on this cheesy little insignificant planet, can even contemplate such things…
      Was String Theory or Superstrings mentioned?
      Best wishes, Awestruck of Dulltown.

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    Oh, the anticipation!

Leave a Reply

