Warning: Don’t step too close to the hatch!…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s colours are: ragged russet, yelping yellow, booming burgundy, memorable mauve, bouncing beige and octagon orange.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Hm, it’s a bit confusing isn’t it?…
I suppose I could have cropped the left-hand side of the picture off completely, and this could have been another one of my reasonably popular ‘this is not art’ photographs, but no, I think the aerial view of the city and the fields works really well with whatever that stuff is to the right.
Perhaps we are up on the top of a very high tower, a wind turbine perhaps – but we could also be on a plane…
No?… Oh come on! Do try to get into the spirit of the thing!
You see, we are looking out of an open hatch in the side of a cargo plane, the stuff on the right is just a badly wrapped wooden crate that someone has left there – gosh, I hope it doesn’t get sucked out – hey, and us with it!…
Are you bored with this approach dear reader? I am…
Let’s examine the aesthetics of the piece instead – see, notice, I’m already calling it a ‘piece’.
Aren’t the colours nice? What I really like about this is that hardly any of the colours of the aerial view are present in the stuff on the other side of the picture. Oh, I do like that salmon pink with the horizontal stab of orange across the top. (Is ‘stab’ the right word? I really don’t know, or care.) Look at that green too! It is so, er, 1960s? Then there is the white stripe motif – is it trying to be an arrow pointing into the top corner?
What do you think of my inclusion of the tufts of vegetation bottom right? Should I have cropped them from the composition? Perhaps I should, they sort of ‘give the game away’ don’t they? Try holding a piece of paper or something up over the bottom edge to hide them – I just did that – yes, I should have cropped them away, they seem to undermine the mystery a little… I suppose I could do a second version of it – if I could be bothered… Oh hell! Why not! See below…

Yes, that’s better, isn’t it?…
A picture is worth a thousand words – am I up to a thousand yet?… I suppose I could tell you where and when this photograph was taken, but that is of no consequence, is it?
Hm, better stop right here I think…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, colours, composition, cool, information, learning, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Warning: Don’t step too close to the hatch!…

  1. memadtwo says:

    I always vote for a door into a parallel world…(K)

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    Always good to know when to stop. Yes, I think the second one is better. Splendid. Full stop.

  3. Dana Doran says:

    I do love the view from up here….but, it’s getting a bit drafty, could someone please shut the hatch? Ooooh, I love those yellow fields….but not next to what appears to be cooling towers at a nuclear power plant….such dangerous stuff. Now on to color….that green, oh that green, it’s definitely not the avocado green of the appliance sort of the 60’s (which I have added to “Fashionable Trends that Shouldn’t Come Round Again” list with burnt orange shag carpet, topless bathing suits, Tiny Tim (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMbQsKJ64S0) and the draft.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      T-Tim – actually that is a lot better than I remember… What a lovely falsetto!…
      No, not the avocado green that bathroom suites featured for their porcelain hues, but brighter – perhaps imagine someone in a mini skirt that colour bobbing around Carnaby Street scattering flowers to left and right…

      • Dana Doran says:

        Ummm, daydreaming?

      • Dave Whatt says:

        By the way, I watched that 30 minute film on the nature of ‘reality’ and thought it was all pretty impressive, and amazing – only a friend now tells me that it’s been all discredited, the science is no good, and it’s just a load of nonsense to draw people in to donate cash.
        Oh dear… Who does one believe?…

      • Dana Doran says:

        I’m so disappointed….kind of like reality, eh?

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Even if it was some sort of scam – it was satisfyingly mind bending and disorientating.

      • Dana Doran says:

        Hum. I had a conversation…..oh, it was SHORT…with my muse. Emergence Theory has not been discredited….

      • Dave Whatt says:

        I will have a short word with my friend too, and I’ll pass that on – actually it all sounded pretty fine to me – but what do I know of such clever things?…

      • Dana Doran says:

        It literally (yes, not figuratively, but literally) hurts my brain to think as hard as is needed to keep up with the dumbed-down version meant to keep dinosaurs (like me) informed. I’m going to go take photos of my latest piece – contemplating Planck length (if it’s so small it can’t be seen????? Whaaa???? )

      • Dave Whatt says:

        It used to be the religious people who came out with the really weird stuff, now it’s the physicists – love it!…

Leave a Reply

