Mail Art Postcard No. 4673…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s financial forecast is for money to be nice, and no money to be, well, unthinkable – how about another glass or two of this fine port My Lord?…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Yes, it’s a mail art postcard. In fact, as you see, this is No. 4573 in the series… Wow, that’s a lot of postcards isn’t it? I’m glad they’ve all been sent; imagine the amount of space they’d take up – well, actually, not a lot really, you’d probably get them all into that old cardboard box that the fridge came in… Gosh, I wonder how many of these still exist ‘out there’ – postcards are ephemera after all, not really intended to be kept, even these arty ones that I do…
So, a simple collage on bright card using clippings from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV.
‘Powerful drama’ – yes Dave, very amusing I’m sure
Actually this beast, whatever it, he, she is, (I’m not really too hot on nature and wildlife) does seem rather familiar to me – I’m sure there’s a British TV actor who does look remarkably like this, I imagine him (yes it is a ‘he’) playing a surly, mean-tempered, disillusioned senior policeman in some warm-hearted, but gritty, crime-soap-drama; it’s probably set in the 1940s, or 1950s, or 1960s to try to appeal to those ageing baby-boomer-viewers who spend most of their remaining time glued to TV screens… Oh god, am I one of those?…
I was going to hazard a guess that this thing above might be an iguana, but after searching for such things online, I think he might look a bit too ‘pink’ to be one of those. He does have a lovely smile though, doesn’t he?… What do you think he’s saying? Whatever it is I reckon he’s doing it with a cheeky Dick Van Dyke Cockney accent…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, composition, creation, drama, humour, information, postcards, puzzle, serendipity, surrealism, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mail Art Postcard No. 4673…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    I believe that chap you’ve torn out and slapped on a postcard is a Komodo Dragon – although I could be seriously misinformed….I’m told that’s the point!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Hm, like I said, I know next to nowt about nature – Komodos, are they pinkish?…

      • Dana Doran says:

        I have seen some photos where they appear pink tinted – once, my boys insisted on keeping Bearded Dragons….in a fake tree I kept indoors…but then we lived in the tropics so crawly things were everywhere, laying their tiny little eggs behind wall switches, crawling on the ceiling, swinging from the ceiling fans….hahahahaha! Not a chameleon for sure though, no swiveling eyes….

      • Dave Whatt says:

        “In the tropics” eh?… Was that on your island?
        Hm, I must read your autobiography one day…
        Yes, I thought that it might be a chameleon – what with the pinkness and all – then when I Googled them I spotted those eyes – you can’t miss ’em can you?

      • Dana Doran says:

        Yes, yes it was and no, no you really can’t.

  2. ktz2 says:

    Good one again – you always make me laugh.

Leave a Reply

