Still life with roses…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s expletive is the 17th, 18th c. popular English exclamation ‘Pish!’ It is probably a corruption of ‘God’s flesh’, ‘Pod’s flesh’, ‘P-sh’.
An hour after the Great Fire of London had started, the Lord Mayor of the city was heard to say, ‘Pish! A woman could piss it out!…’
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I don’t quite know why, when I started this blogging thing, that I made the self-imposed rule that I should post something every day, or at least try to. I suppose I do it to stimulate and activate the old brain a bit – it must be good for it, mustn’t it?
As you will be aware by now I cover a wide range of topics and different aspects of my grumpiness in these pages; I do like to spread the different topics out fairly evenly to maintain an interesting daily variety for you dear reader.
A couple of days ago, walking up the street where I live, I happened upon a nice subject for a photograph – click! Even though I posted that ‘Close to the hatch‘ picture only a few days ago, I was eager share this new one with you – I hope you like it, of course there’s no predicting what other people will like, that is the nature of art, but this one I think does contain a bit of built-in poignancy that you might appreciate:

Yes, we are looking down at the gutter.
How about the composition, with the yellow no-parking-marking-paint intruding from the right? The three elements: the roses, the cigarette ends, and the paintwork, are they reasonably balanced? I think so.
Do you mind all the interest being down at the bottom? Well, I think it’s better there than it would be stuck in the middle of the frame with nothing of interest surrounding it. The road surface, given a little bit of imagination, could be seen here as being vertical, almost like a sky? Well perhaps… Hm, no, not really…
What about a title for this post, and a title for the photo when I stick it onto my Flickr page?… Mm… what shall it be?…
Oh… and is there a hint of some sad human drama at play in this scene?…
‘Here! Take your bloody roses! You think you can get round me with bloody flowers!… Goodbye forever!… You can come round and pick up your bike and dirty washing tomorrow when I’m out at work!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, composition, conversation, drama, expletives, Grumpiness, humour, information, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still life with roses…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    Yes, I’m sure that’s what happened! Isn’t it amazing how problematic trash tossed in the gutter becomes so interesting when it’s photographed…ah…perhaps you’ve stumbled across a plan to change how we look at garbage?

  2. David Manley says:

    Ah some of us are in the gutter looking at the stars…others? well some of the stars are looking at the gutter apparently!

Leave a Reply

