A few short, but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s carefully selected adjectives are: brambly, saikless, wauling, microseismic, exponible, contumacious, and stuffy.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 340.
I’m sorry I’m late, but an anaconda came up out of my toilet.

A single overheard remark:
‘I was going up the sky, and then on the gate…’

A couple of days ago I happened to see a little bit of a TV documentary on the history of the Forbidden City in Beijing. There was a professor-presenter talking to camera:
‘…and the Emperor disappeared, we don’t know what happened to him, bodies were found burned beyond recognition…’ As said this he had a broad smile on his face, as if he was really relishing the brutality. Well, that’s historians for you, I suppose if murder and violent events were a long time ago you are allowed to make light of them, and thoroughly enjoy yourself being on TV.

‘But how can you suffer from mood’s wings?’
‘No, you idiot! Mood swings!…’
‘Ah, right…’

We all got walkie-talkies now… (WT)

Are you ready for another item of spam from my comments box dear reader? This one seems to be from someone called Linus-Google:
My flip, my turn.? Larry mentioned eagerly wiggling to get an opportunity to talk. ? I feel the very best thing about God is that he can beat up the satan as a result of the devil is scary and imply and ugly and unhealthy and God can beat him up so the devil can?t hurtt us like hhe did those emon fipled people in Jesus day.
Well, thank you Linus-Google, this is the best piece of spam I have ever received. I particularly like the religious element, you managed to sum up a lot of things that I have been pondering on for many years.

‘Why are you walking like that?’
‘Oh, my legs ache, I have been cutting the grass and weeding my flower beds.’
‘Oh, I suppose that you’d call it your garden gait then?’
‘Would I?…’

Yes, I’m definitely going to change my name to Lou Smudguards.

For some reason people seem to feel the need to pronounce the letter ‘H’ with an ‘h’ at the beginning – I have always thought that it was spelled and pronounced ‘aitch’… (H)

A single overheard remark:
‘What?… High gossamer?…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in archeology, brain, conversation, cool, creation, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, religion, serendipity, surrealism, TV, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A few short, but pithy items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    Let’s play the WordPress blog association algorithm game……after Dave Whatt’s thoughtful writings, More On WordPress.com suggests….a little trip to the Forbidden City and traveling with someone named Hilton written by someone named Hecht. Oh dear me! That was too easy – the weight was given to external links cited in the body of the text! But, wHy?

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    It IS spelled “aitch”. Absolutely! What’s wrong with these people. Funnily enough, the same people tend to drop the ‘h’ in words beginning with it. Mind you, the Scots tend to be very good and pronounce second aitches correctly (when, where, whale, etc.)

  3. Yes, yes…..Scots enunciate the aitches on the exhaling of breath. Almost like a whistle – and there is again……wHIStle..

  4. Haha! “Garden gait”…..I did chuckle at that, very clever! 🙂

Leave a Reply

