Spatter Painting No. 37…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s expletive is an Australian one – Bovril!
It is a euphemism for Bullshit! – Bovril being an old-fashioned dark beefy sticky meat extract often consumed diluted in hot water as a revolting salty drink. (B)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Shall we today have a look at another of my ‘spatter’ paintings dear reader?

Spatter No. 37. Acrylic paint and black ink on paper about 29″ x 21″.

Hm… Intricate!…
‘Intricate’? – Yes, this is the point in the blog post, when having just stuck a picture on, I feel obliged to say something about it and also to fill up the space below it. I suppose I could just leave it as ‘intricate’, couldn’t I?
Or, I could start throwing questions at you? That’s the thing about abstract art, nobody knows what the hell to say, do they?
We could go for a surreal approach:
‘Dave, why did you have the tabby cat in it when it’s all supposed to be random and serendipitous?…’ Yes, that sort of thing.
Or, ‘Dave, I can see from this fine work that you had a very troubled childhood – I feel your pain… no, no, you are no longer alone…’
That’s enough of that tosh!
So, is there too much of that dark blue in it, or just the right amount, or is there too little? And what about that central off-centre spattered arc of it?
‘Arc’ is a funny word isn’t it? It just doesn’t look right – me, I always fancy having another letter after the ‘c’ – I don’t know what it would be though. Then there’s the confusion with the word ‘ark’, Noah never had an arc, but let’s not get too deep in this, after all we are just filling the space under this rather silly picture, aren’t we?…
There now, that’s about enough. Image and text nicely balanced…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, colours, composition, conversation, cool, creation, expletives, humour, information, painting, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spatter Painting No. 37…

  1. memadtwo says:

    Nicely framed. (K)

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    Well I’d say there’s just the right amount of dark blue in it. It would be lost without it. Fading nicely paler toward the top. (Is it toward or towards? I never really know. Are they interchangeable?)

  3. Dana Doran says:

    That IS the thing about abstract art isn’t it? Is it possible to deconstruct it and talk about the color resonance….making the viewer “feel” foolish for not recognizing the angst the artist suffered in its creation? Ha! I do like it…..and yes, the blue! The shape of the blue splats and drips (being circular) juxtaposed against the open rectangle…..oooh!

  4. I like the blue – and I was going to say similar to Dana, but she beat me to it. Suffice to say that its very pretty, with a nice touch of exasperated movement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

