Ecstasy, gambling, and a limb…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: mofussil, mofette, moggan, mohur, mobby, mockado, and femerell. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Should the professor arrive in the garb of a ‘lady of the night’, you should not let this distract you from your studies.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Good god Dave! What the hell is that?!…
No, it’s alright dear reader, it’s only an innocuous elbow.
I took this picture about a year ago; I seem to recall that this was some advertising material stuck on the inside of a shop window; perhaps a shop that didn’t sell things any more and had been turned into a bingo place, or ‘parlour’ as they are sometimes called. I think this tilting happy lady might have just won some cash.
I was walking along past the place, and as I glanced to my right I saw this looming great elbow at my eye level – I couldn’t identify it for a moment as it was filling my field of view, but I thought it did look meaty, or fleshy, and possibly human – but then as I moved back a little I realised what it was – and I thought that I should perhaps ‘document’ the experience, so I got my little camera out… Click!…
So what do you think of it as a photograph?
There was a bit of fine judgement involved in the composition, the framing, of it – I wanted it to be puzzling, but not unsolvable. How much of the lady’s face, with her open moist ecstatic mouth, and her dress, should be included? Too much and it would give the game away, too little and the foreshortened meaty limb would be almost, er, abstract.
The rather lumpy glossy blue painted edge to the window frame I included balances all those orange/fawn hues nicely doesn’t it? Oh, and by the way, if you look carefully you can also see a faint poignant sunset reflected in the glass.
Oh, an update:
This isn’t a shop window at all – it is the side window of a large cinema here in the centre of Dulltown that many years ago was converted to do full-time bingo – it used to be the ‘Cecil‘ cinema.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, brain, composition, history, Hull.UK., information, observations, photography, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ecstasy, gambling, and a limb…

  1. David Burnby says:

    The image was intriguing enough to make we want to read the Blog so it is indeed puzzling and passes the test of a good photograph. When I first saw it, I thought the women was screaming in agony having somehow indented her elbow on a pipe…

  2. She looks like she might be screaming in terror, really. Aghast at the thought of losing her beloved cinema perhaps?

Leave a Reply

