Just some short but pithy items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s elephant in the room is the one going round annoying everyone trying to sell them insurance.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 341.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had jackdaws on my finials.

A single overheard remark:
‘What? You don’t like symphonies?!…’

‘So, you see, there was this noisy toddler in the supermarket with his yobfather…’
‘His godfather?’
‘No, his yobfather...’
‘Ah, right…’
(yob)

An observation:
I was looking down out of the window from the top deck of a bus – a trendy beardy bloke (a hipster?) on roller skates was weaving quickly in and out of the pedestrians on the pavement. Approaching from the opposite direction was a youth on a small bicycle also on the pavement and weaving in and out of the pedestrians. They suddenly spotted each other, wobbled and almost collided at speed, but they just missed each other and passed without any harm being done…
Damn!…

You know, I’m really beginning to enjoy these items of spam that pop up in my comments box. This morning’s is quite short, but is definitely worth a read. It seems to be from someone called NiamhSidekick and it was in response to one of my ‘This is Not Art‘ posts:
Hi everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web page, and post is genuinely fruitful for me, keep up posting such articles.
Well thank you NiamhSidekick, I’m pleased that my piece was fruitful for you, and I am looking forward  to hearing from you again soon – I found your feedback most constructive.

Heard on the BBC radio news:
‘They are dicing with the spiral of complacency…’

I wonder if the way different countries use English might be an indicator of their general attitude to life and society?
UK: ‘He was beaten up really badly…’
US: ‘He was beat up real good…’

Yes, I think I’ll be changing my name to Roy Al Bloodline.

A single overheard remark:
‘Yes, we decided to call her Tiara…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, cool, drama, dreaming, Dulltown, existentialism, Grumpiness, Hull.UK., humour, information, observations, overheard, people, radio, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Just some short but pithy items…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    Talk about dicing with the spiral of complacency… When I was very young, my grandmother told me that the man that visited her on Saturdays mid-afternoon was her “insurance man.” It was only after her death that I learned he was actually her bookie! As we here in ‘merica know….English is not the official language of the United States – Congress won’t even discuss it for the reason that it’s not “fair.” (Newspeak) Never mind that most people attempt to speak it, or some obscure dialectic permutation of it like pidgeon or ebonics….if English were the official language, usage of words, take for example the word “is” wouldn’t be up for alternative meanings ( In Clintonese, “it depends on what your definition of “is” is) …..because reality is SO nebulous.
    Dave, I so admire your timing and keen skills of observation and awareness….it’s not often we get to anticipate a near mishap and see it artfully avoided….oh, if only you’d been filming! Were people startled when you suddenly burst into laughter? Ha!

  2. Down my road, there is a woman with two young children. She is called Tiarahead, locally, because she literally does wear one like someone wears a hat. (its dress up stuff, obviously, not real) Anyway, she is one of the “Onesie” people, and strolls around with her Dragon Soup, tiara on her head and two little children behind her. Oh we have such characters up here! 🙂

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Oh, Scribbler! Isn’t it great that we both live in ‘interesting’ neighbourhoods?
      I think we’d be really unhappy if we had to live in a ‘nice’ posh area – we are proper Bohemians! Just what artists should be!…

      • Absolutely! I couldn’t possibly live in an area with manicured lawns, bland pleasant people who nodded at you wordlessly as they sped off to work in their large family saloon, oh no…grit, grime and dragon soup ALL the way! 😀

      • Dave Whatt says:

        We have an area like that here in Dulltown, Victorian houses, pleasant tree-lined roads, birds twittering in the hedges, ducks on the grass verges – the people walk about with fixed contented smiles on their faces… Gives me the creeps…

Leave a Reply

