A new old lino print…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: khedive, kerseymere, kex, keratophyre, kepi, keeshond and bywoner. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Extra marks will be awarded by the professor to students with well-polished shoes, sparkling clean teeth, and nicely combed hair.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Whoa! What’s this?…
Ah, it’s my latest lino print; it’s about A4 size using black oil-based ink on nice thin Japanese Kizuki paper. Yes, it does look a bit different from, (oops! I nearly typed different to, or I might even have slipped into that ghastly Americanism different than…) my other recent prints, which are much busier and full of concentric circles and overlapping bits and pieces. (click)
Last week I was looking through the folder of clear ‘display pockets’ where I keep a copy of each print I do; the early ones are actually a bit primitive, they are not very well carved or printed woodcuts (plywood) that I made when I was trying such things for the first time in the late 1990s. One of them looked alright though, if a bit small and rough – I decided I should do a larger version of the design, but using lino instead of wood, which makes life much easier – here is it.
What do you think this one is all about my dear reader?
Are we perhaps in the Alps at night on a dangerous Skiing holiday? Hey up! Is that a snake? Oh no, it might be one of those notorious unpredictable Alp Snakes?… Look, someone has thrown a ball for it to chase…
I don’t know, or care really – but still, I do like this one for its simplicity and stark weirdness… Me, I like anything atmospheric that has a moon in it!…

Oh, and another thing…
After doing a run of prints (I usually just do about ten) I wash the ink from the block with white spirit and an old toothbrush – actually, having completed the edition of prints one might as well throw the block away, its work being finished, so really there is not much point in cleaning the thing, but I do it anyway. Traditionally when the last print has been made from a block the image would be scratched across with a sharp point so that no more dodgy prints, after the official signed and numbered edition, could be made from it.
Anyway, after giving it a good scrub I usually lay a square of absorbent kitchen roll over it to soak up the dirty white spirit.
When you peel it off you see that you have created a new and interesting ‘print’ with blurred edges and some added ‘detail’ on it… Hm, these do look quite nice don’t they?

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, composition, cool, creation, design, information, lino cut printing, lino printing, serendipity, style, surrealism, woodcut printing, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A new old lino print…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Well, they do look interesting don’t they? That’s interesting. If you framed one & hung it, it would pass as an original work. That’s interesting. & kitchen roll’s a lot cheaper than Kizuki paper! Maybe we’ve all underestimated the role of kitchen roll in Art. (Role of kitchen roll, eh?)
    The original is good too!!

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    Don’t tell them it’s kitchen roll. If they ask, just say it’s Japanese Absorbie paper …

  3. Oh your use of kitchen paper is ingenious, I must say! The embossed paper towel does add something to the sky, I think. You may be onto something there! 🙂 The print itself is great too – I do like the intersecting triangles on the left, and the tiny ones further up the “mountain” remind me of those ski slalom events you see on telly. Nice work all round!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Thank you my dear!
      Oh, not ‘ingenious’, purely accidental – I tried to do a couple more like those, but they didn’t look half as good – that’s the nature of serendipity for you.

Leave a Reply

