So, what is it that those TV ads are trying to tell us?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s very nice insect is the Pantaloon Bee. (PB)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

It’s the fragrance for him! – when my IBS flares up – a blocked nose? – it’s our half-price sleep event – relief from constipation? – now feel confident! – juicy chews! – milk from the British Isles! – the great taste of America! – loyalty makes sense! – take me on a journey – smell great! – freshly made! – a dream holiday every day! – a unique masculine fragrance! – an impressively clean toilet! – aged in charred barrels! – blue-power active! – my hair feels stronger than I could ever have imagined – download the app! – need some emergency cash? – we’ve added extra milk and cocoa! – with the swipe of a finger! – roam at no extra cost! – a 4K HDR display! – for young people over 80 – have you got your Weetabix? – we reward loyal members! – start your journey – own ice-cold!…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, brain, cool, drama, dreaming, existentialism, food, humour, information, poetry, serendipity, style, surrealism, TV, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to So, what is it that those TV ads are trying to tell us?…

  1. Rebecca says:

    I’m so delighted that the pantaloon bee is real! Is there also a knickerbocker moth? 🙂

  2. ” my hair feels stronger than I could ever have imagined ” Great, I’ll tie my shopping to it and keep my hands free for more important things! Also: I received a telephone call today (from a robot, no less) informing me that my order for “29 million pounds was ready for collection” Such a shame I hung up before finding out how to collect the darn thing!

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Ho ho!…
      £29,000,000? Really?… Oh, I never get calls like that…

      • They withheld their number too, so I can’t even phone them back! Ack well, lesson learned! Serious point though – what if someone older or less alert actually believed that call though? These scammers really ought to be tracked and traced and brought to justice. I’m with TPS ( a free Telephone Preference Service) who are “supposed” to stop this kind of thing. pfft!

      • Dana Doran says:

        In the US we have a government agency that is supposed to stop (prosecute) people from making unwanted calls to your phone. Of course, it doesn’t work. I think the scammers have the list and only call the numbers on it!

      • Dave Whatt says:

        No, as I just said to Scribbler, ours doesn’t work either.

      • I am inclined to agree with you, Dana. I read somewhere once that they actually sell those lists. Wouldn’t be at all surprised. I just blow a whistle down the phone now, haha!

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Oh, I signed up to TPS too, but it’s so difficult to use – you need to know the full name of the company, their address, and phone number, and even then they probably can’t do anything about the calls.

      • I know 😦 Its horrible. I get tired of trying to convince them that I haven’t been in any “accident”, and no I don’t want PPI, and I live in a flat so a conservatory would be of no use to me at all!

      • Dave Whatt says:

        What I like to do when I get one of those calls is listen to their opening line or two, and then say, ‘Oh, this sounds most interesting!… Ah!, hang on, excuse me!, I hear the door bell, I’ll be back in just a second!…’
        And then I lay the phone down and get on with something else. At least you have the satisfaction of wasting their time – and for them ‘time is money’.

      • Haha! yes….I should try that too sometimes. A lot less startling than a whistle blown in your ear – I do wonder if I could get into trouble doing that…. *rolls eyes*

      • Dave Whatt says:

        “Get in trouble”? I shouldn’t think so, I expect people do that to them all the time – they’ll be used to it. I usually leave it off the hook (what hook?) for about five minutes – they’ve always gone by then.

  3. Dana Doran says:

    Yes, you get kudos for arranging those ridiculous claims in a manner their heightens their….well, lack of appreciation for people being familiar with reality! …we’ve added extra milk and cocoa….(sure they have)…with the swipe of a finger! bwahaha

  4. twallisstone says:

    Very good – as usual!!

Leave a Reply

