Running from the mannequins…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s existential angst is centred around the sound of the word ‘teleology’.
I dare you to look it up – that sort of thing makes me shudder!
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>


Here’s a photo from about a year ago.
Is it another of my ‘boring’ ones, or is it a triumph of composition and poignancy?
‘Poignancy’ seems to be this year’s word for me – I think I used it for the first time in my life only about six months ago. It’s one of those words that you hear clever people say, but you are not quite sure what it really means. I was drawn to it probably because it had ‘poig’ at the front of it, but unfortunately it’s not pronounced like that – when I feel like slipping it in and need to consider how the awkward thing is spelled, I have the image of a woman, she’s probably French I reckon, for some reason she’s called ‘Poig Nancy’…
Anyway, here’s a picture. Is it poignant? Probably not.
Does it have meaning in it? Possibly.
Is the meaning in the composition? It might be, but really I just liked that big area of blueness – it’s actually the boarding surrounding a building site where they were putting up a new cafe. I go in that cafe now for tea and cake.
You see how I’m rambling here? I suppose it’s to avoid talking about the picture – pictures shouldn’t really need talking about should they? They should be just looked at.
I am glad I got the walking lady in the top corner though – I waited until she was in just the right spot. Is she running from the distant skinny angular mannequins?
Ah, is this where the poignancy can be found?…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, brain, cafe, colours, composition, cool, drama, Dulltown, fashion, Hull.UK., humour, information, learning, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Running from the mannequins…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Teleology, well … the great Designer or mechanical happenstance. Who knows?
    I think that woman is just walking, isn’t she? She doesn’t really look able to actually run. Bet those mannequins could easily sprint after her if they wanted to though! You never see stout mannequins, do you?

  2. ktz2 says:

    I love your amusing ramblings, always entertaining

  3. Dana Doran says:

    Thanks Dave….or today you might be the poignant Mr. Whatt? Is that a little tear in the corner of your eye? I haven’t seen anything lately that I would describe as poignant….but now that I’ve said that, I suppose life (or teleology) will heap something upon me soon…and as I stifle back a good cry, I’ll stop myself and think…wow, that was a poignant moment! I could write a book about that picture! (in 1975, I tried!)

  4. I thought the thumbnail of the blueness was actually a balloon for some reason. But yes, the woman does seem to be walking quite swiftly away from the mannequins – reminds me of the Walking Dead series…..do you watch it at all? I have a mannequin – well she’s not a *proper* mannequin, more of a dress form, or tailors dummy as they called them (politically incorrect these days I shouldn’t wonder). Her name is Cynthia, and she wears a psychedelic flowery top from the 60’s. I really should make her a head and stand her in the hall to ward off potential burglars…..

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well, Cynthia sounds very nice!
      For ages I have been confused between ‘mannequins’ and ‘manikins’ – they sound so similar, but are quite different things.
      Do you have a ‘lay figure’? I have have one, but I have never used him. We do know that Dana D. has one, don’t we?…

      • Yes! Yes I do! I call him the “wibbly wobbly man” because he always falls over unless I place him in a balanced position between some books – no graceful standing on one leg for him, oh no. 😦

      • Dana Doran says:

        Yes, I do have a lay figure! How did you know? bwahaha Now, I guess the only things I’ve named have been children and paintings….oh, and I named my first GPS, I named her Rita for her erratic behavior. She was stolen. No one ever called with a ransom amount. Cynthia is a nice name for an inanimate object – kind of wall-flowery and introverted!!!

  5. twallisstone says:

    I love your insights! This is the best commentary about a blue wall that I heard in a long time. Of course, the woman escaping the mannequins is a nice feature.

  6. Those mannequins, I’m thinking of that zombie movie. Great shot.

Leave a Reply

