What?… Two versions of a lino print idea?…

But first…
Dulltowen, UK: Today’s very small dog is the one with a very loud voice.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Hm, about a week ago, I treated you, dear reader, to a design for a lino print, one, where, in the end, I did two versions of it. I can’t recall why I did two of them. But do click here.

Perhaps today we had better have a look at them both.
Two prints in one blog post – see, see, I am so very generous!

Number One. Oil-based ink on Japanese paper about A4 in size.

Number Two. Oil-based ink on Japanese paper about A4 in size.

Well, it looks to me, like I might as well shouldn’t have bothered!
They are quite similar, aren’t they?

No, no, no!
Hang on, I think I prefer the second one.
It is a lot busier, isn’t it?
There are several more vertical stripes jumping about at the back too. And, it has two round things (maybe they are footballs?), hanging there at each side. Yes, I do like those! The design needed them!

Do you think that all this overlapping stuff bends the brain nicely? I do call myself a surrealist, you know.
Also, do you like the interlacing of the vertical things with the horizontals?
Are these horizontals steps going up, and down? I hope so!
It is so very three-D. And it is all so uneasy on the eye – don’t you think, dear reader?

Ah, now I’m looking more closely at the both of them – the second one is far better. Those footballs give the eye something to rest on. Would you climb up these steps?
Hm, I don’t think I would!

When I have included a photo in a blog, I usually add it to my photographs on Flickr. Yes, I now know which one of these two it will be!

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in abstract, academia, animals, architecture, art, arts, brain, composition, cool, creation, design, drama, drawing, fine art prints, humour, information, irony, jobs, learning, lino cut printing, lino printing, magic, observations, photography, prints, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, smiling, style, surrealism, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What?… Two versions of a lino print idea?…

  1. memadtwo says:

    I don’t know why but both of these make me think of a piano. (K)

  2. Jheron Bash says:

    Mmm … Yes, I think the second one is more visually interesting. But the first one is very good too. they both deserve a space in the world.

Leave a comment