What? Another sketch for a lino print?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary words are: arapaima, limonite, roble, distyle, brankursine, and thropple. Please have these words looked up and placed in suitable sentences ready for Professor Mouldie first thing after breakfast tomorrow morning. Should the professor turn up in the garb of a wizard, with a pointed hat, you should instantly refuse any of the spells that he might offer you.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Oh, it’s another sketch for a lino print on my workbench – I’m sorry, dear reader, you must sick of the sight of these by now!

At least there is tea (green tea) in the mug this time.
But the drawings in the corner are relatively small, aren’t they?
Ah, but, hey, look, there is a piece of fresh lino ready, stuck to its bit of plywood. I always use that size of lino – it is 8 by 6 inches. It is a good size, not too big, not too small, and its later print goes nicely into a black A4 size frame.

The upper of the two sketches was the first.
I think the idea was that we could have some vertical stripes at the top of the sheet, with some horizontal ones zipping across underneath, and the stripes would also get wider towards the bottom, to give the feeling of depth; then anything that goes over the top of those might look a little bit more three-dimensional where it hovers over the substrate. Hm, not sure about the word ‘substrate’, but I think it’ll do.
In the lower drawing, the wayward floating, three-D, members have turned into vertical ones. They seem to stand out rather well!
See, there’s a little extra bit of drawing at one side, where I was wondering if those uprights might be L-shaped. Hm, yes, I think they will be.

So, going on from there, I eventually did a print of this idea, and then a few days later, I did another one, of a very similar design. Maybe I thought that first one wasn’t good enough? You see, this was all several weeks ago. Or maybe, it is possible that the second one wasn’t ‘as good’ as the first one?

On my following post, in a few days time, I think that I’ll show you, dear reader, the two prints, and maybe by then I might be able to work out why I actually did two of them?
Hm…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in abstract, academia, art, arts, brain, celebrities, composition, cool, creation, design, drama, drawing, fine art prints, Grumpiness, humour, information, instruction, jobs, learning, lino cut printing, lino printing, linocut tools, Maths, mind, observations, photography, prints, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, thinking, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment