Oddments and bits…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s financial forecast is for lumps of money the size of potatoes rising unexpectedly and soiling nice clean shirts.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No.105.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I had to transfer some money to Nigeria for a very nice chap I met online.

An observation:
The staff in shops and cafes in Britain’s cities are either horrible, or very nice, warm and friendly. The ones in small country towns are invariably stiffly polite, guarded, and cold.

Oh look, there’s Simon Schaffer, expert in the history and the philosophy of science, poking about the Marks and Spencer’s sock department. I’m sure it’s him. Look at him estimating the softness of the wool mix…
Google Image Result for http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/ca/Simon_Schaffer.2001.jpg/240px-Simon_Schaffer.2001.jpg

No, I’m sorry, but I don’t like cowboy films much – they are just too dusty for me… Oh, and they usually have horses in them too…

They were the sort of people who would go into a nice quiet cafe and turn it into a horrible noisy one…

Oh look, there’s hard man movie star Jason Statham filling his basket with carrots in the vegetable department of Tescos. I’m sure it’s him, you can tell bv the steely unemotional stare he’s giving the vegetables as he sorts through them choosing the best quality.
Google Image Result for http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_Gc2xhJizTTo/TOoq0wzycPI/AAAAAAAAAio/jBKGvzDjH7g/s1600/jason%2Bstatham2.jpg

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in observations, people, serendipity, surrealism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oddments and bits…

  1. Please can you write about people I have heard of in future? Consider the needs of your television-less readers.

    • Dave Whatt says:

      I’ll do my best…
      No TV eh? I suppose you get all the news of the world’s asinine stupidity from the newspapers and radio instead then…

      • Nah, I used to get it from facebook 😀 until I chucked it. Great journalist me, I wait for people to tell me about Important Events, or I read headlines in the supermarket for free. If I think it might affect me I’ll look it up at home. Otherwise, I’ve got more important trivia to get on with.

      • Dave Whatt says:

        I like your attitude RSITM! I am ‘sort of’ on Facebook, but I don’t inhale… I’m only there to try to get more readers for this piffle I write. Facebook gives me the creeps – it is so inward looking and cosy…

  2. I lied. I log in as my Partner so I can click on Save a Dog. He never logs in. So technically I am on there. But not in spirit. And as I am ‘him’ it restricts me from commenting and getting drawn into the drivel.

    I used to publicise my blogs on FB, even twitted them once or twice. But with FB all that people do is read the blogpost and then comment on FB! Hey! Idiots – you are meant to be commenting on MY site, not flipping FB. So it’s back to trudging the streets of Blogland like a junior reporter, finding the odd interesting blog amidst the ‘I’m back to university/my boyfriend broke up with me/I’m searching for God/how to make baked beans at home’ posts. Oh wait, that last one shouldn’t be included, it’s my next one.

Leave a comment