What I did on my day off – supplement…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s carefully selected colours are: minx mauve, rollicking ruby, fuming fawn, artificial azure, wacky white, bluebottle black, and that odd grey that my best leather jacket went after it had been left too near the electric heater.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Well you see dear reader, after showing you the journal of my visit to Liverpool to see some art yesterday, I thought that today I would capitalise on the wit and charm of the piece, drag the thing out a bit longer, and flog it for all it was worth. (Link)
Well no, perhaps not, but you may recall that I mentioned photographing some ‘arses’ (or as they might say in the US ‘asses’) on the pale marble figures in the Walker Art Gallery. Well, this might be an opportunity to show you one of these pictures.
Here we go – look out! Here come the arses!…
Isn’t ‘arse’ a great word? I think the Americans should switch to calling their asses ‘arses’ from now on – they should set up a website promoting the change, don’t you think?…
Sorry, I must have drifted off for a moment – back to the arses, as promised – here they are:

It’s alright!… This is not obscenity! This is proper art – and, they are only marble after all…
Do you like them? That lady in red gives the composition some added ‘meaning’, doesn’t she? I like the way she’s slightly out of focus – it gives a bit of ‘depth’ to the picture…
Gosh, just look at those bottom cheeks!… So marvellously rounded!…
I’d like to see this picture blown up really large, say four metres by three, on a gallery wall somewhere – oh, how about in the Walker? They could pay for it too!… Oh, and maybe they’d get some postcards printed and flog them at 85 pence each?… This picture might make a good album cover – are there still such things as album covers? Apparently vinyl is very strong at the moment… I’m rambling again…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, colours, composition, cool, creation, drama, expletives, history, humour, information, observations, photography, sculpture, seeing, serendipity, smiling, surrealism, thinking, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What I did on my day off – supplement…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Now then, Dave! I can’t help but notice that today’s blog appears to have been posted at the unprecedented hour of 6 am. Did you have a troubled night dreaming of those plumptious arses?
    I do agree that arse is a much more suitable word than ass. I mean, an ass is a donkey, right? And they don’t have plumptious arses, do they. More of a rear end really.
    Mind you, what about our Transatlantic cousins’ use of the word “fanny”? What’s that all about?

  2. ktz2 says:

    Why do I sense that the sculptor really, really enjoyed his work haha

  3. john seven says:

    I’ve often felt that arse is lost in the tongue of us Londoners but comes to fruition
    in the mouth of a fully rounded Bristolian.

Leave a comment