Could I just interrupt you for a second?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK/Europe: Today’s wedge of cheese is the one with intentional mould on it.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘Excuse me…’
‘Hang on…’
‘Excuse me!’
‘Look, I’m nearly at the end of my song – just a couple of strummed chords left… There, now what do you want?’
‘I er… I don’t quite know how to…’
‘Ah, I expect you are about to apologise for not putting anything in my hat, you have no small change at the moment?’
‘No.’
‘No?’
‘No, I noticed that you just did a rendition of, You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away, by the Beatles.’
‘Yes, I did… Did you like it?’
‘No, not really… But I was puzzled by something.’
‘Oh? What?’
‘Why, throughout the song, did you sing “A-way” – instead of the normal way of saying the word?’
‘Er…’
‘I mean, “away” is a very common everyday word – I’ve never heard anyone I know pronounce it “A-way”, as you did…’
‘Well I…’
‘Come on, there must be a reason? Do you think it’s a tad more cool, or maybe a bit transatlantic? Though, come to think of it, I’ve never heard an American say “A-way” like that. Would you pronounce it that way in normal conversation?’
‘I don’t know, I might, I suppose.’
‘Do the Beatles sing “A-way” in the original? Was it Lennon or McCartney who sang it?’
‘I really don’t know – but he did have a Liverpool accent, maybe that’s how you say the word in Liverpool?’
‘Hm… let me ask you this then…’
‘Alright, but be quick, I need to do another number.’
‘It’s not going to be Nakita by Elton John, is it?’
‘No, but it’s not “Nakita” it’s “Nikita”!’
‘I know that, but all the way through Elton definitely sings “Nakita”… I thought that would be right up your street, what with all this “A-way” nonsense…’
‘Shut up!…’
‘And, as Christmas is coming, will you be doing, A-way in a Manger?’
‘Look, just fuck off! I’ve had enough of this!…’
‘Are you a millennial, by any chance?’
‘I might be, please go away!’
‘Hey!… You just said “away” in the normal manner!’
‘Did I?’
‘Yes, you must save up your “A-ways” for your supposedly cool singing style…’
‘What if I do?’
‘Pronouncing it like that is a bit pretentious and meaningless, don’t you think?’
‘No, I don’t, and as I said, just fuck off will you?’
‘Now, suppose you were doing, Burn Away by the Foo Fighters, Dance the Night Away by Van Halen, 2,000 Light Years Away by Green Day… Ouch!…’
‘Go A-way!…’
‘I don’t think much of your limp guitar playing either, you’ve no passion, no style… Ouch!…’

This piece was composed after hearing a busker in Dulltown centre a week or so ago.
Links:
You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away.
Nikita.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in conversation, cool, drama, Dulltown, existentialism, expletives, Grumpiness, guitars, Hull.UK., humour, information, music, puzzle, serendipity, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Could I just interrupt you for a second?…

  1. David Manley says:

    I always wondered what was with Debbie Harry & Denis?

Leave a comment