Just a few short, but pithy, items…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s quotation is from Cordwainers Smith’s story Alpha Ralpha Boulevard:
Everywhere, men and women worked with a wild will to build a more imperfect world.
I myself went into a hospital; and came out French. Of course I remember my early life; I remembered it, but it did not matter
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Excuses for being late. No. 508.
I’m sorry I’m late, but I was wondering if the hand jive would ever come back.
Click here.

A single overheard remark:
‘But Tony! It was like a popping horror…’

No, but isn’t it funny how the ancient cave painters, from thousands and thousands of years ago, were much better at it than the people who persistently draw, and write, on our walls at present? Even though some of it now – is called art!

‘See… I really get it now…’
‘Get what’?
‘You know, the people in charge of the world… It’s quite clever, really.’
‘Why? What are they doing’?
‘Sport.’
‘Sport’?
‘Yes, keeping all the people desperately interested in sport! They are encouraged to love it. They get very emotional about it, even though it is all remarkably meaningless.’
‘Meaningless’?
‘Yes, it distracts the people from complaining, and rioting, and demanding change, about the way things are, in this awful world…’
‘Oh, I see…’

Oh, that was very nice!
A good chap on Twitter, obviously, having looked at one of my posts dealing with my overheard and badly misheard classical singing, responded, and sent me a link to a super misheard lyrics classical piece on YouTube!
It really is very good, and also still quite dramatic!
Do have a look!
Please click here.

Hm… there’s not much spam dropping in these days – maybe spam has actually finished? A thing of the past?
I think I shall miss it when it finally goes.
Still, here’s a little something just slipped into my comments box. It seems to be from someone with the unlikely name of debisnicoup:
I’m not much of an online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice – I’ll go ahead and come back down the road. Thank you for the auspicious write-up it in fact was a amusement account it look advanced to more added agreeable. However communicate?
Hello debisnicoup! I’m communicating. How very nice to suddenly make your acquaintance! And ‘more added agreeable’ always cheers me up! Thank you, my dear fellow! I will see you soon, coming back down the road again! Keep on sending stuff like this! You is, a fantastic writer!

Yes, I’m thinking of changing my name to Justin Sayne.

A single overheard remark:
‘Susan, Susan!… It was like a frog army!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in abstract, academia, animals, archeology, art, arts, books, brain, composition, conversation, cool, creation, design, drama, drawing, Grumpiness, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, learning, mind, misheard, observations, overheard, painting, people, politics, puzzle, radio, Rioting, seeing, serendipity, smiling, style, surrealism, thinking, war, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just a few short, but pithy, items…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Yes, that misheard “Carmina Burana” is very amusing. You should definitely do one of those animations next time.

  2. David Manley says:

    Cripes, 72 in another seven weeks and that’s the first time I ever heard – what I now realise – the first? & best ‘Willie & the Hand Jive’! Shame on me…

Leave a comment