The lino print with the planks in it?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary word is. nychthemeron.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

About a week ago, dear reader, I showed you an odd photograph with a couple of designs, drawings, of a possible lino print in it. It also had a couple of foreign banknotes lolling there too, for some reason. Do click here.
Anyway, here’s a picture of the final print.

WP F DSCN6710
Lino Print. 2022. Oil-based ink on Japanese paper, about A4 in size.

Yes, in my previous post I did go on about the three-d-ness of the thing, didn’t I?

Well, that seems to work alright. It is a very flimsy looking thing, isn’t it?  Hm, and there’s a lot of white in it.
Really, if we want to talk about this thing, let’s give the parts names: the curves, the sticks, and the planks.
The curves work reasonably well, I think. But what about the little bits of curves filling the spaces in the corners? Yes, I think they are alright.
The sticks: they are definitely above the curves, I’m happy to say. I was a bit indecisive about how to make the sticks look separate from the curves, I finally decided that they should all have a thin white line underneath them, which they shouldn’t have really. White lines look like the sunlit side.
Sunlit?
Yes. You see, without their thin white line, the sticks looked as if they were visually glued to the curve below – bloody things! That would have ruined the composition – less three-d space, you see! I was annoyed and confused – yes, we’ll go with thin white lines!

Now then, the planks:
They are definitely resting on the sticks – good! That’s where they should be.
I do like those planks – you see, there’s nothing much to them really, they are mostly invisible! That’s a good thing in a lino print – you can let the viewer’s brain create the thing! Dissolving into the whiteness!
But there was a small problem, which troubled me.
Just look at them. They couldn’t rest like that, they stick out far too far. They’d fall off. The law of the lever.
So, what did I do? I nailed them down, to their supporting sticks.
I couldn’t be bothered carefully cutting a round nail head on them, so I went for a square ended nail. Do you get square ended nails?
Bang, bang, I went, with my Warrington hammer. There, that will hold the buggers in place.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in abstract, academia, art, brain, composition, conversation, cool, creation, design, drama, drawing, dreaming, expletives, fine art prints, Grumpiness, humour, information, learning, lino cut printing, lino printing, mind, photography, physics, prints, puzzle, science, seeing, serendipity, style, surrealism, swearing, thinking, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The lino print with the planks in it?…

  1. I like this. I’m put in mind of the high dive at the pool where I lifeguarded about 45 years ago when I was in college. I was also the swim team coach so I spent a lot of hours there. Many good memories of three summers. Funny how instantly I thought of it when I saw this artwork. Very evocative!

Leave a comment