A replacement for those ripped up lino prints from last week…

But first…
Dulltown. UK: Today’s dictionary word is, astragal.
Shall I look it up for you, dear reader? No, I think today, I’ll let you do the looking up.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Last week?
Oh yes, last week, it was Friday the fifth.
I had fun ripping up some prints of mine that I thought were not quite good enough. Perhaps you’d like to see the blog post I did on it? Do, click here.

Anyway, it’s time to look at the new version.

Untitled lino print. 2023. Oil-based ink on Japanese paper, about A4 in size.

As you will see, I have kept the main feature, the stairs, big in the picture – bigger than in the original version, and I have filled the surrounding area with discs and triangles – discs and triangles are always good to add. They do tend to jump about in the viewer’s eye, don’t they?

Really, I suppose I should leave it at that, and just let you look at the thing.
No, I think I’d better say something – people seem to like it when the artist talks about their work.

This design is sneaky, but obvious, at the same time.
What do I mean by that?
I’m not quite sure, but I am sure there is no trouble, nor obvious cleverness, going on here.
Or, is there?
See, it is obvious – three steps up on the right, and four steps up on the left. I could walk up those easily, could you, dear reader?
But on your way up, you might think, yes this is easy, and then someone shouts out, ‘Hey…’
And you say, ‘What…’?
And they say, ‘Are you walking on the black or the white steps?’
And then you look down, and then you are confused, and then you fall off…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in abstract, academia, archeology, architecture, art, arts, brain, composition, cool, creation, design, drama, drawing, dreaming, fine art prints, Grumpiness, humour, information, lino cut printing, lino printing, maths, Maths, mind, physics, prints, puzzle, science, seeing, surrealism, thinking, Uncategorized, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment