The beast on the grass…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s instruction is to peel back the clear transparent film from the two domed stainless steel lids and discard it; squeeze a small amount of yellow grease from sachet (provided) and rub it slowly between finger and thumb, sniff it (it should smell of freshly boiled carrots) and then smear it over the four projecting brass nozzles marked ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’ and ‘D’ on the lower curve of the sump, be careful not to smear any of it on the spigot marked ‘M-39’. Switch on the mains power and place the palm of a hand over the central glass globe ‘W’ – you should be aware of a gentle warmth and hear the sound of distant voices sweetly singing…
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Well, I am tempted to waffle on at length about this photograph, I could easily do a thousand words on it… but then, it is a picture… and according to the old saying… (Picture)

I think I’d better try to keep it fairly short:
This quick snap is packed full of drama though, don’t you think?
I’m glad I waited until the pavement cyclist zoomed into shot before I clicked – what with our friend the croc. being so horizontal across the bottom of the frame, but balanced by the yob on his little bike wobbling off into the distance like that – he does tie the composition together rather nicely.
My word, that grass looks lush and verdant, even possibly fecund – making the most of it before the Dulltown Council comes round with their noisy grass cutter. I think this picture was taken about a year ago.
Is this a ‘crime scene’ – or is Mr Croc just having a jolly good roll around on the grass like a cute puppy?
Oh, look at him grin and chortle!…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in art, composition, drama, Dulltown, green, Hull.UK., humour, information, instruction, observations, photography, seeing, serendipity, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The beast on the grass…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    My word, that’s a big fearsome beastie to come across in the fecund grass. Must have given you quite a start!

  2. Dana Doran says:

    What if Wikipedia is wrong about this English Idiom (obviously not English but ‘merican) and it wasn’t Tess Flanders? Ha! Did you know that there’s a question about the origin of Caesar salad? (Sort of a chicken or egg question that doesn’t quite come up to the level of a Schrodinger’s Cat.) Created by an Italian restaurant owner in Tijuana Mexico…oh, what a place! https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&authuser=0&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1366&bih=638&q=tijuana+mexico+1960&oq=tijuana+mexico+1960&gs_l=img.3…1295.6724.0.7302.20.20.0.0.0.0.209.1100.18j0j1.19.0….0…1.1.64.img..1.15.751.0..0j35i39k1.4dfrf_q1mT4
    Of course, I haven’t been there in thirty or so years… Caesar’s in Tijuana! Steakhouse atmosphere with red leather booths…so is the Caesar salad Mexican or Italian? I think the beast might be an alligator…or just a suspicious package left by the gent on the bike wheeling away, I’m sure the tail was getting all tangled up in his spokes. The poor beast may have escaped the latest episode of “Swamp People.”

    • Dave Whatt says:

      Well, what a lovely assortment of 1960s Tijuana photos!
      And… while we are on odd facts – I have never in my life eaten a Caesar salad. Didn’t the famous Jules Caesar invent it anyway?
      And can you tell an ali. from a croc. even when it’s made of cloth?
      Hm… red leather boots, pleather boots?…

      • Dana Doran says:

        You’ve missed something fantastic that Caesar salad! I looked for the original recipe to pass along but couldn’t find it quickly – It’s quite popular in the US, but few make it correctly – seems like anything with croutons can be called a Caesar…hurumph…on the ali v. croc, one has lower teeth exposed when the jaws are closed….or so I hear….I did visit an alligator farm near Pascagoula, Mississippi not too long ago…the only reason I mention that is because it’s fun to say Pass-ca-goo-la !

      • Dave Whatt says:

        ‘Something fantastic’ eh? Hm, it sounds like a salad to me…
        Are there such things as ‘fantastic’ salads?…
        Oh, of course there are! I must be just at a low ebb this evening…
        By the way, I’ve still not found much to look at on Deviant Art – apart from yours DD.

      • Dana Doran says:

        Thank you for your support! Deviants…what can I say? I know it’s “just a salad” – but my favorite part is the (not dried up croutons) but what is in fact bruschetta with the tender inner greens of romaine, with a good soaking of dressing (fresh garlic, lemon, worchestershire, smashed anchovy, a whole coddled egg, wine vinegar, olive oil etc). It’s made at the table. But of course, people do throw a piece of protein on top and call it a meal. It’s not a meal…. Moreover, I’m not through yet….when traveling to Tijuana one was always warned – do not eat fresh produce (hence, the Aztec two-step came to be)….we didn’t – except Caesar Salad! Who sneaks out of the country at age 16 to end up in Tijuana?

      • Dave Whatt says:

        Wow, that salad sounds very, er, technical – there are plenty of ingredients in there that I’ve never heard of…
        Well! Coddle my eggs!…
        Ran away to Tijuana at 16? Goodness me!
        ‘The Aztec two-step’?… I think I might be able to guess what that is…

  3. I think there is a very drunk person inside that crocodile costume. Must have been a good party the previous night….or maybe a proposal – yes! Someone decided it would be rather jolly to propose to his intended all dressed up in a cute crocodile suit, and yet sadly…she didn’t appreciate it, rejected him (and the suit) and so he got blind drunk and fell asleep at the side of the road.

Leave a comment