What’s that? Misheard classical singing?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s giraffe is the one being arrested by the police for looking into people’s upstairs windows.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The studio/workshop is a bit cold this time of year, and of course also in the coming months. I do have an electric heater though – and on the wall above it, I have installed an electric fan, so that the rising warm air can spread around the place.
It does take an hour or so to get the room warmed up, though.
I have taken to wearing woollen fingerless gloves, and there is an old patterned rug on the cold concrete floor for standing on. It sometimes sits in front of the drawing table, and sometimes it is in front of the workbench; it is easy to move around, you can easily do it with your feet.
Whatever I’m doing, I usually have the radio switched on.

When I get fed up with the news of wars and suffering on the BBC World Service programme, I, in desperation, might switch to the BBC’s classical music station, so that I can, as I draw, or saw, jot down some misheard classical singing lyrics. Oh, in the classical world they probably don’t call them ‘lyrics’. That is a more rock-and-roll sort of term. And you’d think that their diction would be far better. Me, I blame the music, drawing all the words out like that.

Look, dear reader, here are some recent ones:

‘My mouth bite, ’tis but another bee.’
‘We take all the nows! We take all the nows’!
‘The island, is a hollow in my hand.’
‘Oh, dandy dee!…’
‘Are souls, are souls’?
‘Shall we take the fools, Monica’?
‘Ho ho ho ho, ha ha ha ha…’
‘My voice! Away!…’
‘Where? Where? Where? Where’?
‘Aha! Don me coat, don me coat’!
‘Go!… Oh dith’!
‘The looops, the looops.’
‘So, shall we dance with the long poles’?
‘Whelp me, all thy dung trays…’
‘The days seem like barley now.’
‘Crime!…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in abstract, art, arts, brain, composition, cool, drama, expletives, giraffe, Grumpiness, humour, information, magic, misheard, music, overheard, painting, puzzle, radio, science, serendipity, sex, smiling, style, surrealism, swearing, thinking, war, weather, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s that? Misheard classical singing?…

  1. ktz2 says:

    Always wonderfully weird and good for a laugh… such as ‘the days seem like barley now.’

Leave a comment