Oh, the lino print that looks like a giant artwork?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s dictionary word is, fatidical.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Hm, it’s the lino print, that I showed you the preliminary drawing of a few days ago, dear reader. You may remember that the photo had my lunch in it too. If you’d like to see it again, to refresh your memory, you could click here.

I think we’d better have a look at the thing now, don’t you?
Here it is.

Lino Print. 2023. Oil-based ink on Japanese paper, about A4 in size.

‘Hello Bobby! What brings you here’?
‘Oh, hi-there Slobby! Yes, I saw the advert for this in the local newspaper, I thought that I’d just come along and have a look’.
‘It is, er…’
‘I know, what you are going to say…’
‘Do you’?
‘Yes, I think so. You are going to say that it is much bigger, than you expected.’
‘Hm, that’s right, Bobby, I suppose that is the nature of art, nowadays.’
‘Nowadays’?
‘Yes! No one likes small art now, it really has to be big. Big means expensive, not little cheap little trash that you could buy in a tiny trendy art shop.’
‘I suppose so – people would come for miles, just to see the size of the thing. I know I did…’
‘And I did, too… Isn’t it big? It must be worth a lot, a lot of money’!
‘Yes, being that size, it has to be.’
‘It’s like the Mona Lisa. People flock to see that.’
‘Flock’?
‘Yes, they do flock…’
‘Is the Mona Lisa this big, too’?
‘Of course…’
‘I always thought it was relatively small…’
‘Small? No, no, no, it’s enormous!’
‘I didn’t know that, I’ve only seen pictures, photos, of it.’
‘No, it is massive, and it’s a lot better than these cubes – as you can imagine…’
‘Oh why’?
‘It’s got a massive smirking lady, with funny eyes, in it. Much more interesting than a couple of hovering boxes.’
‘I see… Do you fancy going for a quick drink at that pub – that one, over there’?
‘Alright… We could still look at the eye-catching cubes, though – out of the window.’
‘Of course…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in abstract, academia, adjectives, advertising, art, arts, brain, composition, conversation, cool, creation, design, drama, drawing, finance, fine art prints, Grumpiness, history, humour, information, learning, lino cut printing, lino printing, money, observations, people, prints, puzzle, seeing, serendipity, smiling, style, surrealism, thinking, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment