Are you ready for some more Veronica Crush character names?…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s banana, is the perfectly straight one.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I was lying in my bed this morning, and for some reason, I was thinking about Arthur Conan Doyle. I was thinking what a memorable name Arthur Conan Doyle is. And also what a memorable name Sherlock Holmes is, too. Holmes is a reasonably common name, I suppose, but who would call a child Sherlock?
I was probably thinking about names because yesterday I received a post card from the USA. It was from Veronica Crush, writer from the glory days of the Hull Surrealist League, now living in New York with tall tree surgeon, and heir to a multi-billion dollar fortune, Monty Tick.

The postcard was a homemade one, and it featured a photograph of an odd-looking fat man, with orange make-up on, asleep in the courtroom of his trial, there in New York.
Yes, Sherlock is an odd name, isn’t it? When I finally got out of my bed, I looked it up. It is a Middle English name, meaning, he who has fair hair. I just thought, dear reader, that you might, at some point, need to know that.

Anyway on the back of the card V has written, in tiny writing, a bunch of her spare character names for me to share with the world on my blog page – this, is it.
She comes up with so many good ones, more than she can ever use in her stories. Here, for the use of any young writers who struggle thinking up pithy, memorable names for their characters. If you are one of those, do dip in and grab a couple!
As usual, V has included, as a puzzle, a real person’s name in the list – see if you can spot which one it is.
The answer to V’s puzzle may be found via the link at the foot of this page.

Dustin da Corner
Dame Alison Crooch
‘Slippery Joe’ Trunks
Jayne Caramel-Mount
Jean Joseph Bott
Sebastian Yawn MP
Sir Barry Coconuts
Lord Marvin Erv
Bruno Klamps MA
‘Rizzy’ Joe Plumb-Basket
Norma La Pearance
The Reverend Baz Toobernets
‘Mad’ Stan Jellibow
Ed Toast
Rebecca Snout KC
….
For the solution to V’s puzzle, please click here.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in academia, art, arts, books, brain, celebrities, composition, cool, creation, drama, Dulltown, history, Hull.UK., humour, information, learning, mind, people, politics, puzzle, reading, religion, Royalty, style, thinking, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Are you ready for some more Veronica Crush character names?…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Nope, didn’t get that one. I was hoping it might be Ed Toast.

  2. David Manley says:

    Guessed it right Dave, but what a sad story!

Leave a comment