Mail Art Postcard. No. 4573…

But first…
Dulltown, Europe: Today’s wrinkled old black and white snapshot is the one of me and Orson Welles balancing pool cues on our chins outside a New York bar in 1948.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

WP F 4573Ah, good morning Sisters, now, first of all I’d like to… Whoa!…
No, it’s alright, it’s just another of my mail art postcards, a simple little collage on fluorescent card using cuttings from that awful British TV listings magazine What’s On TV – I really only buy it for the images – oh, and I use pages from it to cut onions up on, onions can make an ordinary chopping board a bit unpleasant you know…
Right then, I wonder who these two are – perhaps it’s some new TV drama I’ve not noticed, perhaps set in a convent, doesn’t that sound thrilling? I’ll bet it’s got a name like ‘Nun Crazy’ or ‘Moody Sisters in the Cloisters’. I’ll bet it’s pretty popular though, ladies in black and white floating, as if on wheels, through ancient moonlit limestone passageways, oh, see them seethe and flush with pent-up unrequited passion… There’s certainly a bit of drama going in this postcard though isn’t there? Look at that shameless hussy-nun grinning away behind big sister’s back… There’ll be trouble brewing before matins…

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in advertising, art, drama, history, humour, information, Mail Art, postcards, religion, serendipity, smiling, surrealism, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mail Art Postcard. No. 4573…

  1. The older nun looks like she is on a mission to find out what the younger one might be smirking about. Ah well….those that go looking for trouble usually find it, ha!

  2. I think the film you’re thinking of is called “Nunny Pot”.

  3. shammy says:

    Little sister hussy-nun could probably teach her older sister nun a thing or two!

Leave a comment