You see, it’s a question of wings…

But first…
Dulltown, UK/Europe: Today’s lost plectrum is the one recently found orbiting in one of the rings of Saturn.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

‘Excuse me, I think you’ve just dropped something.’
‘Oh dear, so I have! It’s the little velvet pouch with my aura crystal in it.’
‘Oh, you wouldn’t want to loose that would you?’
‘No, certainly not. You are most kind.’
‘You’re welcome.’
‘You have an old and very nice spirit – I can tell…’
‘Have I really?’
‘Oh yes… What time is the next bus due?’
‘Quarter past.’
‘Oh, it’s that now.’
‘Hm…’
‘My aura crystal likes you.’
‘Oh?…’
‘Yes, it’s glowing. Would you like to feel its vibrations?’
‘Well, not just at the moment.’
‘Sure?’
‘Yes, but thank you all the same.’
‘My GA thinks that the bus will be a little late.’
‘Your… GA?’
‘My guardian angel, Troglan.’
‘Oh yes?’
‘He’s a angel, he’s never wrong about things chronometric.’
A angel?’
‘Yes.’
‘A good timekeeper eh? That’s a handy skill.’
‘Isn’t it? We’ll have about four-and-a-half minutes to wait… and chat, if you like?’
‘Oh, alright, why not? What’s he look like?’
‘Who? Troglan?’
‘Hm…’
‘He looks like a angel of course!’
‘Right… Is it possible for me to see him?’
‘No, no, it doesn’t work like that… Only me…’
‘Can you see him right now?’
‘No, there’s no need, but I can feel his presence.’
‘Of course you can…’
‘You sound, er…’
‘Sceptical?’
‘Yes, sceptical…’
‘So, Troglan, is a ‘he’ then? Are there female angels too?’
‘Of course there are!’
‘How tall is he?’
‘Tall? Oh, he’s tall, but I’ve never bothered measuring him, of course.’
‘Of course… But I think you will guess my next question.’
‘I don’t think so…’
‘But you must get asked it a lot…’
‘No…? What is it?’
‘Wings.’
‘Wings?’
‘Yes, is Troglan equipped with a couple?’
‘Of course he is – he’s a angel! That’s what makes angels stand out…’
‘From the crowd?’
‘Yes! That’s right!’
‘Well let me ask you this…’
‘What?’
‘If you don’t mind?’
‘No, no, you can ask me anything, go ahead!’
‘You are most accommodating – you see I’ve never met anyone with a GA before.’
‘No?’
‘No… Is Troglan unusually muscular around the shoulders, and the upper chest area?’
‘Eh?… Not particularly, he’s rather handsome, and he’s nicely proportioned.’
‘I see, it’s just that…’
‘Just that what?’
‘Well, I mean, wings big enough to support his weight must take a lot of vigorous flapping to get him off the ground… I’d imagine he’d have pretty impressive pectorals, as well as a well developed…’
‘Troglan just hovers gracefully – with ethereal levitation!’
‘Ah, but why then does he bother having wings at all, if…’
‘They are traditional, you see, they are things expected to be seen on a angel! If you look at ancient frescos and oil paintings, they are always depicted as hovering, and never…’
‘Flapping away furiously?’
‘Exactly!… Oh look, my crystal is throbbing now!’
‘Oh, so it is! May I reach over and, touch it…? Oh… look, here comes the bus, bang on four-and-a-half minutes late!’
‘See, Troglan is never wrong…’
‘Well, I am impressed…’
‘Shall we three board then?…’

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in brain, conversation, drama, dreaming, Dulltown, humour, information, physics, religion, science, serendipity, sex, story, style, surrealism, thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You see, it’s a question of wings…

  1. Jheron Bash says:

    Angels and Ministers of Grace defend us ….

  2. Sharon Mann says:

    Hmm, were these two eating some Alice B. Toklas brownies this morning? teehee

Leave a comment