Some misheard snatches of er, classical singing…

But first…
Dulltown, UK: Today’s confused film star is Meve Startin.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

You see, when visiting a café, which I used to do a lot, if I didn’t have any interesting and bubbling ideas for ‘articles’ or ‘stories’ or ‘anecdotes’ to write for my blog, I would either listen to the chattering of the other customers and jot down some of their overheard and misheard snatches of conversation, or if the place was a bit empty of live humans, I would listen to the songs being played over the overhead speakers, and try to not make sense of them, instead.
As I don’t do café-ing these dangerous days, I have found that my collection of unpublished scribbled down song lyrics is running rather low. However, at home, as I sit, with the radio playing, chiselling away at slabs of lino in my little workshop, I sometimes resort to having the BBC’s classical music station – Radio 3, confidently burbling and warbling in the background.
I wondered if I could replace my café misheard song lyrics with some ‘misheard classical singing’. The thing about classical singing is that the perpetrators seem to revel in bending over backwards with their pronunciation and diction, but unfortunately I still can’t make out what they are going on about – so really, this compilation should be a piece of cake!
Let’s give it a try!

‘Thyme, kick the door, miney miney miney.’
‘We… and your… I marmy marmy do do.’
‘Daze is leaving my army hips. I get up, I crêpe on.’
‘Oh, gravy party – I fly, your eyes a’drip!’
‘Grateful tanky, I spend my time orderly with louts, yes, yes…’
‘Butter either, we green and sallow – tithoo, tithoo!’
‘A hoppy pie – so calmly malm, so calmly malm.’
‘Island glow, island glow, it’s a rave in D…’
‘Oh, sweet claw! He-ho, he-ho, he-ho sweet claw!’
‘Beamer bees, beamer bees, beamer bees…’
‘Beer and pies, my dear, farmer chips, farmer chips, and me-ee-ee.’
‘Whooo, whippy knee – oh, sardine, sardine…’
‘Dee dee day, dee dee day, I now have whole bottoms.’
‘Sopway before I am me – see, I trade my heart…’
….
For further information on how lines like this are compiled, you could click here.

About Dave Whatt

Grumpy old surrealist artist, musician, postcard maker, bluesman, theatre set designer, and debonair man-about-town. My favourite tools are the plectrum and the pencil...
This entry was posted in abstract, academia, arts, brain, cafe, celebrities, composition, cool, creation, food, Hull.UK., humour, information, mind, misheard, music, overheard, people, poetry, puzzle, radio, serendipity, sex, style, surrealism, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some misheard snatches of er, classical singing…

  1. Dana Doran says:

    I’m thinking when it comes to classical music, you may not have misheard the lyrics at all! The question is, you Highness, do you sing along?

  2. I think you’ve opened a whole new door to appreciating classical music.

Leave a comment